Seventeen from spring sports added to the All-UAA Silver Anniversary Team

Seventeen from spring sports added to the All-UAA Silver Anniversary Team

WALTHAM, Mass. – Throughout the course of 2012-13, the University Athletic Association (UAA) named its Silver Anniversary teams, honoring the best student-athletes from the first 25 years of the Association. After 28 alumni were honored in the fall semester, Brandeis had 17 alumni added to the roll in the spring for a total of 45.

The Brandeis baseball and softball teams matched women’s cross country from the fall with seven members each named to the Silver Anniversary team. The softball team’s honorees included two four-time All-Association selections in Melissa Jones ’99 – a Brandeis Athletic Hall of Famer – and Erin Ross ’10, while Erica Peterson ’95 was honored for winning UAA Most Valuable Player honors as a senior at the first-ever UAA softball championship.

The Brandeis baseball squad had the second-most members to the 25-Year team, behind only Emory. The Judges twice had back-to-back UAA MVPs, with Eric Podbelski ’91 and Brian Corsetti ’92 winning as seniors and Jim Freethy ’02 and Sean Ewers ’03 repeating the feat more than a decade later.

Brandeis tennis had three representatives, with Minh Tran ’94 the only woman and Noel Occomy ’89 – an NCAA champion and Brandeis Hall of Famer – and Sam Jonas ’07 for the men.

The 25-Year teams were named by assigning two points for each spot on an All-University Athletic Association first team and one point for the second team. Each student-athlete who accumulated five points was selected to the team, as were all players who earned Most Valuable Player or Most Outstanding Performer honors. Baseball and softball selections do not include the All-Tournament team, which was instituted in 2009, while winners of the top singles flight for tennis were recognized in the years prior to MVPs in that sport.


Minh Tran ’94

Noel Occomy ’89 *
Sam Jonas ’07 !

Brian Corsetti ’92 !
Ben Dashefsky ’07
Sean Ewers ’03 !
Jim Freethy ’02 !
Zach Golden ’06
Tom McShane ’03
Eric Podbelski ’91 !

Sara Albert ’03
Jessee Boyce ’00

Melisa Çağar ’11
Tricia Gomes ’97
Melissa Jones ’99 *
Erica Peterson ’97 !
Erin Ross ’10

! = UAA Most Valuable Player/Most Outstanding Performer

* = Brandeis Athletic Hall of Fame Member

# - UAA Most Valuable Player/Most Outstanding Performer & Brandeis Hall of Famer